6 Comments
author

I love me some comfort zones. I love my comfort genres (cozy mystery, sibling centered stories, HEA romances). I love my comfort shows (Murder She Wrote, WWDITS, The X-Files, GBBO). I love being wrapped up in predictable plots and formulas, because yes, Jessica Fletcher will ALWAYS solve the crime and yes, though this couple is apart for Reasons they WILL get their happily ever after. It soothes my anxiety, staying in my comfort zone.

When it comes to my writing, I do think staying in my comfort zone can be a creative block. I find myself wanting to write outside of the genres I normally read. Which is weird! But I know I'm not alone. I also want to play more with poetry, super flowery pretty prose, and sci fi-esque writings. But I haven't quite ventured out yet.

So in true Libra Moon fashion, I think comfort zones are both a help and a hindrance lolsob.

Expand full comment

My comfort zone is literally just my bedroom. I hide away with a book or games on my phone or my bullet journal and just shut my brain off to the outside world.

My creative comfort zone is with a trusted friend, bouncing ideas around the air like beach balls. It's how I figure out most of my plot holes.

Expand full comment

Mmm, comfort zones. I think having grown up around peak “girl-boss-hustle-culture stuff” I think comfort zones are still super underrated. Especially in creative endeavors. I work on reminding myself that if I’m making *something* it’s not a waste. I know for me, feeling safe tends to lead to me making more stuff and then taking risks later on. I firmly believe growth can still happen in a comfort zone.

When you brought up wanting to try some new things, it got me curious (and forgive me if this is a dumb question, I am not a writer) do writers use sketchbooks? Or is there like a writer equivalent to a sketchbook? Where you can do weird stuff and let it be ugly and experimental and you don’t have to show anyone at all ever? A (sort of) judgement-free space for writing?

Expand full comment
author

Ahhhh yes!

You know I think the Morning Pages are supposed to be like the “sketchbook”, but! I have found writing games to be more effective because the Morning Pages are still so regimented (and ableist in my opinion).

I can’t remember any of the names of the writing grams at the moment lol but yes. I do know what you mean!

Expand full comment